Broccoli and Mushroom Chow Mein – Part 1

IngredientsYesterday we cheated.  It was meat-free Monday and it was meat free, but we ordered in.  I like cooking and having a meal in a restaurant or cafe somewhere.  Ordering in is cheating.  It’s like calling staying in your pajamas-eating cereal-not showering a work day.

So to make up for it I’m trying something new.  In fact, I have been craving the avocado tossed pasta that I’ve been stalking online for the past week.  Finding a ripe avocado for a reasonable price was asking too much.  Instead I improvised.

Now when I was in fine dining there was a dish on one of the very old menu that had truffle broccoli puree on it.  I won’t elaborate on the rest of the dish because that was decidedly un-vegan.  Dinner tonight was transformed from that.  Sans truffle oil and mushrooms instead.

Broccoli and Mushroom Chow Mein

1 head of broccoli, chopped small –

This post has now been very unceremoniously interrupted by our national power supplier load-shedding.  If you are unfamiliar with this term I’m rather green.  And not in a pleasant fresh crispy vegetables kind of way.  It’s the green monster of jealously.

I’ve been looking forward to my broccoli all day…

4 thoughts on “Broccoli and Mushroom Chow Mein – Part 1

I would love to know what you think!

