Chocolate Chai Why Not Biscuits

It’s been two months to the day since I last had a biscuit.  I’m not that big a lover of these little titbits but they do go down a treat with a cup of coffee.

Since the weather is turning cold I thought I would try my hand at making a batch of 100% vegan Chocolate Chai Biscuits. You may be thinking, ‘Why Chai with chocolate?’, and I say Why not!  You will mostly find Chai spice paired with white chocolate.  For this recipe use 95% dark chocolate.

And I think I will call them my ‘Chocolate Chai Why Not’ biscuits.  Enjoy!

Chocolate Chai Biscuits

5ml baking powder

310ml all purpose flour

2ml tsp salt and Sea Salt to sprinkle over the tops prior to baking

50ml muscavado sugar

30ml Chai spice mix (I make my own and will post the recipe soon)

80ml coconut oil

60ml golden syrup

10ml blackstrap molasses

15ml flax meal mixed into 60ml water.  It will resemble porridge when ready

200g 95% Dark Chocolate (I used Cocoa Fair, a Cape Town based producer.) Chop it up it small pieces.  I don’t waste time with chocolate chips as I find it lacking in flavor.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Use a whisk and mix together all the dry ingredients.  I’m a fairly lazy chef so I like using shortcuts that I’ve picked up over the years.  Using a whisk will help to aerate your flour (not as much as using a sieve!) and break up any lumps.  Perfect for biscuits without the effort of taking out a sieve.

Mix together the oil, molasses and golden syrup, add in the flax ‘porridge’ and finally combine with the dry ingredients.  It will look a little like clay and taste like peanut butter.  I think it’s a tasty snack as is.

Flatten the dough and sprinkle the chocolate over it.  Use your hands and squish it all together.

I use a silicone mat for practically all my pastries and biscuits.  If you don’t have one, I highly recommend that you spend the bucks on them.  They are fantastic and you will save your lungs from the huge amounts of non-stick you probably go through.

Shape the dough into balls and flatten them before baking at 180 degrees Celcius for 12 minutes.

Try to let them cool down before you dig in…

I would love to know what you think!

