Avocado and Caper pasta

I have looked at many of the avocado dressed pasta’s that you see floating around. They all look so delicious I knew I had to make my own version. Since I feel that capers ‘jooshes’ up a dish and I just love the little buds so much, there was no question about adding them.

So without further ado, here’s my Avocado and Caper Pasta for a very comfortable Saturday night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the sauce

2 medium-sized avocados

1/2 a lemon

1 onion, sliced thinly

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 tablespoon of caper

Oil for choice for frying

Sea salt and white pepper

Sauté the onions until golden, adding the garlic and capers to soften. Set aside.

Once cool, add in the avocado, juice of 1/2 a lemon, salt and pepper and a splash of caper brine to taste. Blitz using a food processor or hand blender. I prefer using a hand blender as it offers far less equipment to clean when you’re done.

1/2 a packet of Penne pasta, cooked as normal, and kept hot.

Stir the avocado sauce through the warm pasta.

Serve up and garnish with a salad of raw courgette and tomato in a zesty lemon oregano marinade.

To make this I took:

1 medium courgette, cut into ribbons with a peeler

1 plum tomato, cut into julienne strips

Mix together with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, a squeeze of lemon , the juice of the tomato and 1/2 a teaspoon of dried oregano (fresh is of course much better if you have it).

Good, honest comfort food.

Vegan Avocado and Caper pasta

I would love to know what you think!

