Hot Chocolate Pudding

It’s been a week full of giggles and playtime with my little one staying home for a few days.

I came across a delectable feature on Mediterranean inspired dishes while we went through some old food magazine together – I’m tearing out articles and recipes that I’m interested in and my daughter is only interested in tearing up everything.

The Moroccan Chocolate cake stood out immediately and I knew I had to try my hand at a vegan version. The recipe promises a moist result and I had high hopes for the outcome.  It didn’t turn out quite as anticipated but was tasty nonetheless.

Here is my vegan version:

3 Flax ‘eggs’

300g brown sugar

1 cup coconut oil

1 cup cake flour

1/2 cup Cadbury’s Drinking chocolate

(The original recipe calls for cocoa, but I only had drinking chocolate in the house today.)

4 teaspoons baking powder

A pinch of salt

1 1/4 cup soy milk with 2 tablespoons white vinegar added in.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.  You can make one 20cm (8inch) cake.  I made two 15cms (6inch).  Spray them well with non-stick spray.

Start by beating the ‘eggs’, oil and sugar until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture has emulsified.

Sieve all the dry ingredients – twice.  I know that I promised to not bring up sieving too often, but when you’re baking its important.  Sorry!

Now mix in the dry ingredients and finally the curdled soy milk.  Beat until the mixture is smooth.  Pour into your cake tin(s) and baked until the cake is ready.  Don’t be in a rush, make sure your tester comes out clean.

Cool completely in the tin before turning out.

We had it as a pudding with some chocolate sauce.  I can imagine some whipped coconut cream would be delicious as well!

I would love to know what you think!

